Università degli studi di Cassino

The University of Cassino is composed of Schools for Engineering, Humanities, Law, Physical Education and Economics with a total student population near to 15,000. The Engineering School runs under-graduate and post-graduate programs in Telecommunications Engineering, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Electrical Engineering with specific curricula in the field of Robotics and Mechatronics.

The LARM: Laboratory of Robotics and Mechatronics has been established in 1990 and since then it is operating with the aim to develop experience, teaching, and research in the fields of Automation, Robotics and Mechatronics with main focus on aspects of Mechanical Engineering. Faculty members of LARM are prof. Marco Ceccarelli (full professor), dr. Erika Ottaviano (Assistant professor), and dr. Giuseppe Carbone (Assistant professor), and Eng. Chiara Lanni (Research Assistant).

Research activity is carried out at LARM within specific subjects regarding with Mechanics, Design, and Experimental Validation: serial and parallel manipulators; grippers and hands; walking machines and humanoid robots; electro-pneumatic systems; dynamics of mechanical systems for automation; robotised manipulations; low-cost robots; mechanical transmissions. In these research fields the achieved expertise of LARM is recognised by the many founded projects that have been and still are developed within Italian national programs and international frames. For example, LARM faculty members have been the national coordinators of the project “Design, simulation and experimental validation of cams with circular arc profile” funded by Italian Ministry MURST in the frame of PRIN 2003-2005. This project has included the design of specific sensor-based test-beds and the development of specific experimental test procedures for cams and non circular-arc gear transmissions. Several other research projects have been developed (or are under development) in collaboration with well-known research groups including Waseda University (Japan), Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan), Beijing Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (China), Bauman Institute (Russia), Kursk State University (Russia), TU Braunschweig (Germany), RWTH Aachen (Germany).